Kindle Paperwhite

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last reviews
All-New Kindle Paperwhite, 6" High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi

Amazon

New, higher resolution display (300 ppi)--now with twice as many pixels; Now with Bookerly, our exclusive font, hand-crafted from the ground up for faster reading with less eyestrain; Built-in ...

Start from: $139.99
amazon amazon.com
[As reviewed by the wife] This is the perfect thing for a new mommy who loves to read books! As soon as I had my baby girl, I had to stop reading my novels because I had to give the baby my full attention. But how much time do I spend laying in bed, on my side, with the baby while she feeds?? Especially prior to 4 months when feeding took as long as 45 minutes! Not to mention cluster feeds during growth spurts! A book was out of the question because it's sooo tiring to hold up in side-lying-breastfeeding-position. My new Kindle was the solution! It's light, easy to "disinfect" (I use baby wipes on the case whenever I feel like it's not clean enough to go on the bed with the baby) and you don't need to keep a finger in the middle of the pages to keep it from closing - you know what I mean!And for some reason it's much easier to go through a book with a Kindle compared to an actual book. I never thought I'd be converted into the Kindle culture but here we are!
July 1, 2015
Just got mine right now. Looks the same as the previous generation except for the Kindle logo (it's black this time), feels a little heavier, the screen is a little warmer toned than the previous one, BUT the resolution is SO MUCH BETTER! The 300 ppi are definitely obvious and the new font is worth the money.Totally recommend it for a book lover!I'll give it 4 stars instead of 5 because I am used to a cooler screen, but I'm sure I'll get used to this one soon too 🙂
July 3, 2015
My previous kindle was a DX, this is my second kindle in years. Love the form factor and all but I do miss the physical buttons for page turning. There is a glitch in the software though. I use the English interface but occasionally I would like to translate words into traditional Chinese. However, it seems that the traditional Chinese characters cannot display correctly and become small boxes. The simplified Chinese characters can be displayed correctly though.
July 8, 2015

In this review we look at the Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Wi-Fi model. People often ask which Kindle is best for me. Well the simple answer is that if you have wireless internet at home and do not travel a lot, then the Kindle Paperwhite without 3G is a perfect fit.  So let’s take a closer look.

Although the Amazon Kindle had always been lauded with praise for its lack of screen glare and authentic book reading experience; the online retailer really switched things up when they released their Kindle Paperwhite Wi-Fi and 3G model versions of the e-reader back in 2012.  The obvious difference as hinted by the name is that it features a light at the front that illuminates the screen.

The all-new Kindle Paperwhite models were released in late 2014. Amazon has essentially taken their world-beating formula and tweaked it. It is still one of the best options for anyone looking to buy Amazon Kindle in South Africa.

Design

Similarly to other Kindle and older Kindle Paperwhite models available, the new Paperwhite is 6.7 by 4.6 inches with a 6 inch screen.  A minor improvement on previous models is the Carta e-paper technology, 212 ppi resolution and brighter light.  This makes the screen much sharper than previous Amazon Kindles and other e-readers by the likes of Nook and Kobo.  Compared to the iPad Mini it is a whopping 30% lighter so you can easily hold it in one hand and read for hours.

Features

That seems the biggest In terms of features the Kindle Paperwhite is not filled with a plethora of unnecessary aspects, its design and features are tailored to satisfy book lovers and offers a rewarding experience using it to read ebooks. The light is obviously the big selling point with the Paperwhite and the most appealing thing is that it does not cause glare. The new model’s text definitely appears darker on the white background. The light is easily adjustable and can be dimmed to suit your exact reading needs.

The user interface is simple and very easy to use.  Even a child can use the touchscreen technology by tapping or swiping the screen to page through your book. With the advances in Kindle technology you can flip through pages a lot quicker compared to previous models.  A great feature of this Kindle is the fact it gives readers a rough estimation of how much time it will take to read the rest of a chapter. When you flip you’ll also never lose the page you were on. The inclusion of this is genius on Amazon’s part as I am sure we have all been there when it has started to get late and we don’t want to stop reading.

Performance

The Paperwhite follows suite with the rest of the Kindle family and offers the user a superior performance when compared with its main competition.  The battery after one single charge can last up to an incredible 8 weeks when used daily without Wi-Fi activated.  It’s an absolute pleasure to use.

The Kindle Paperwhite delivers the same usability that customers have come to expect from the online retailer’s e-readers.  If the so-called “experimental” web browsers, which is more than a little slow, may be seen as a disappointment, this is not a tablet. This is very clever e-book reader which goes beyond a book.

Value

Whether buying the Kindle Paperwhite Wi-Fi or the 3G models depends on your needs. We would consider either model the best e-book reader currently on the market. Buying a Kindle Paperwhite from Amazon in South Africa is a no-brainer. If you travel frequently without access to internet, get the Kindle Paperwhite 3G. If you are connected most of the time, the Wi-Fi model is more than adequate for your book reading needs.

$139.99

New, higher resolution display (300 ppi)--now with twice as many pixels; Now with Bookerly, our exclusive font, hand-crafted from the ground up for faster reading with less eyestrain; Built-in ...

Made by: Amazon, Available: In stock
amazon amazon.com
9 Total Score
Fantastic!

Design
9.5
Features
8.5
Performance
9
Value
9
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
5 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Nico 05/01/2015 at 06:55

    Amazon won’t ship this item to SA

    • Reply
      admin 07/01/2015 at 07:06

      Hi Nico – Amazon does ship the Kindle Paperwhite to South Africa. Please note that Amazon only ships to a physical address and not a PO Box address. You should not have a problem buying the Kindle Paperwhite from Amazon in South Africa.

  2. Reply
    nicky 28/01/2015 at 06:05

    what is the shipping costs for the kindle to south africa

    • Reply
      admin 28/01/2015 at 14:24

      Hi Nicky, Shipping & handling is aprox R370 and import duties R280. This amount changes depending on the exchange rate. I used 1:12 ($1 = R12). The costs also vary depending on the actual device. This is specifically for the Kindle Paperwhite. The total order cost would be R2,325 using todays’ exchange rate.

  3. Reply
    toms o 19/10/2015 at 16:44

    toms o

    Sales of the Kindle Fire are going better than expected. A whole host of image enhancing features is provided as standard which allows users to manipulate and edit images and videos, including autofocus, touch-focus, face &amp.

Leave a reply

Your total score